Awards Presentation Announcement of Winners

Congratulations to our Winners, Runner Ups and other acknowledged poets announced at the awards ceremony held recently.

Youth Section


Jeremy Firman (VIC) – Where Heaven Meets the Deep

Runner Up:

Zac Andrews (VIC) – The Magic Box


Open Section


Jane Williams (TAS) – Surviving Your Imagined Death

Runner Up:

John Shiells (VIC) – Wheels on the Bus


Highly Commended:

Lynda Hood (VIC) – The CFA Volunteer 

Alana Kelsall (VIC) – On a Grey Day the Sea in his Eyes

Catherine Bateson (VIC) – The Fox Says 



Damien O’Brien (VIC) – Knot 

John Hornsey (QLD) – A Lunar Point of View 

Julia Wakefield (SA) – Financial IndependenceNatural Selection

Alison Thompson (NSW) – Radiance 

Cameron Semmens (VIC) – The Rattling of a Dumb Stumbler

Mary Jones (VIC) – Mary 



Awards Held: 2pm Sunday 30 July, 2017

Gemco Theatre 

19 Kilvington Drive, Emerald





Download a copy of the Woorilla 2016 awards booklet with the winning entries.